1605 Grand Avenue, Suite 4
San Marcos, CA 92078
Phone: 760 - 761-4734  / Fax: 760 - 761-4736
E-mail us

California Council for Interior Design Certification
The standard for interior designers in the State of California
“Public protection through examination and Certification”

Schools with Interior Design Programs

 Students  
 
How to become a CID  
 
IDEX California (new exam)  
 
Apply for Certification  
 
Schools  
 
Scholarships  

   Compare IDEX and NCIDQ
   Sign up for news on IDEX

For your convenience, listed below are California schools, colleges and universities that have Interior Design Programs. We also list accredited online and correspondence schools with Interior Design Programs. CCIDC DOES NOT ENDORSE OR RECOMMEND any particular school. It is up to the student to thoroughly research and select a school that would be appropriate to their career path. The information below is, to the best of our knowledge, up-to-date. CCIDC is not responsible for the accuracy of this information. If you are a school administrator and wish to provide us with corrections about your listing or your interior design program, please email the CCIDC office.  


Important Notice! - For marketing purposes, some schools are calling their interior design programs "interior architecture", and unfortunately, graduates from these programs resort to calling themselves “interior architects”. Under California law, there is no such title as “interior architect” or “interior architecture”. You are either an interior designer, or a licensed architect. There is nothing in between. Calling oneself an “interior architect” or saying that you perform “interior architectural services”, unless you are a licensed architect, you are holding yourself out as an "architect" without a license, and, as such, you expose yourself to a citation and an expensive civil penalty from the California Architects Board. Regardless of which interior design program you graduate from, you can only call yourself an “interior designer” or the legal title of “Certified Interior Designer” but only when you have applied to, and been approved by CCIDC.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The IDEX logo next to a school's name designates this particular school has received information and presentations on the Certification examination in California, namely the IDEX California. By allowing CCIDC to present information on the Certification process for interior designers in California, the faculty and students in these schools are aware and fully-informed of the path to the legally-recognized and professional title, “Certified Interior Designer”. To schedule a presentation at your school, please email us.
 

CALIFORNIA SCHOOLS with INTERIOR DESIGN PROGRAMS
Sorted by COUNTY
/
Updated page on April 24, 2014

Alameda

Butte

Contra Costa - none

Fresno

Los Angeles

Marin

Monterey

Orange

Riverside

Sacramento

San Bernardino

San Diego

San Francisco

San Joaquin

San Luis Obispo

San Mateo

Santa Barbara

Santa Clara

Solano

Sonoma

Stanislaus

Tulare

Ventura

Yolo

Accredited Online & Correspondence Interior Design Schools

 

ALAMEDA COUNTY  
  
Chabot College, Interior Design Department
25555 Hesperian Boulevard
Hayward, CA 94545-5001
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.chabotweb.clpccd.cc.ca.us
Contact:Adrian Huang
Interior Design Dept. Coordinator
Email:
ahuang@chabotcollege.edu
510-723-7410


 

Las Positas College, Interior Design Program
3033 Collier Canyon Road
Livermore, CA 94550-7650
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.laspositascollege.edu
Contact: Justin Garoupa
Email:
jgaroupa@laspositascollege.edu
Tel: (925) 424-1382



Ohlone Community College, Interior Design Program
43600 Mission Boulevard
Fremont, CA 94539-0911
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.ohlone.edu
Contact: Denise Owen
Email:
dowen@ohlone.edu
Tel: (510) 979-7917




BUTTE COUNTY   Top of page



California State University, Chico Interior Design Program
400 W. First Street
Chico, CA 95929
BFA in Interior Design
Contact: Kijeong Jeon
Email:
Kjeon@csuchico.edu
Tel: (530) 898-5491





FRESNO COUNTY   Top of page

California State University, Fresno, Interior Design Program
Department of Art and Design
5225 N Backer Avenue, Mail Stop 65
Fresno, CA 93740-8001
Bachelor of Arts in Interior Design
Web:
www.csufresno.edu
Contact: Nancy Brian
Email:
nancybr@csufresno.edu
Phone: (559) 278-3055
Contact: Richard McQuone
Email:
richm@csufresno.edu
Phone: (559) 278-2046



LOS ANGELES COUNTY   Top of page

 
Antelope Valley College , Interior Design Program
3041 West Avenue K
Lancaster, CA 93536
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.avc.edu
Contact: Dr. Karen Cowell
Email:
kcowell@avc.edu
Phone: (661) 722-6404



 

Art Institute of California – Los Angeles
2900 31st Street
Santa Monica, CA 90405-3035
Contact Joanne Kravetz, Academic Director, Interior Design
Email:
jkravetz@aii.edu
Tel: 1-310-752-4700
Tel: 1-888-646-4610


 

Art Institute of California-Hollywood
5250 Lankershim Blvd.
North Hollywood, CA 91601
Contact Kyle A. Moss, Academic Director, Interior Design
Email:
kamoss@aii.edu  
Tel: 1-818-299-5276
Tel: 1-877-468-6232



California State University, Long Beach, Interior Design Program
1250 Bellflower Boulevard
Long Beach, CA 90840
Web:
www.csulb.edu
Contact: Chris Miles
Email:
chris.miles@csulb.edu
Tel: (562) 985-7758


 

California State University, Northridge, Dept. of Family & Consumer Sciences
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330-8308
Bachelor of Science
Web:
www.csun.edu
Contact: Kyriakos Pontikis, Ph.D.
Email:
Kyriakos.pontikis@csun.edu
Tel: (818) 677-3051
Contact: Judith Griffin, M.A., CID
Email:
judith.griffin@csun.edu
Tel: (818) 677-4693
Fax: (818) 677-4778


 

College of the Canyons
Applied Arts & Tech. Div./Interior Design
26455 N. Rockwell Canyon Road
Santa Clarita, CA 91355-1899
Web:
www.canyons.edu/departments/intd
Contact: Dorothy Minarsch
Email:
dorothy.minarsch@canyons.edu
Tel: (661) 362-3989


Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, Interior Design Program
919 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90015-1421
NASAD Accreditation
Associate of Arts
Web:
www.fidm.com
Contact: Dina Morgan, CID
Email:
dmorgan@fidm.com
Tel: (213) 624-1200 X3015
 

Los Angeles Mission College
13356 Eldridge Ave.
Sylmar, CA 91342-3200
Interior Design Program 2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.lamission.edu
Contact: Sharon Anderson
Email:
Anderssl@laccd.edu
Tel: (818) 364-7600 X4370



Mount San Antonio College , Interior Design Program
1100 North Grand Avenue
Walnut, CA 91789-1399
2 year AS Degree
Web:
www.mtsac.edu
Contact: Elisabeth Eatman
Email:
eeatman@mtsac.edu
Tel: (909) 594-5611 x6336 
 

 

Otis College of Art and Design See notice
Department of Architecture/Landscape/Interiors
9045 Lincoln Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA 90045
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Architecture/Landscape/Interiors
Web:
www.otis.edu
Contact: Linda Pollari, Chair
Email:
archscapes@otis.edu
Tel: (310) 665-6868



Santa Monica College
See notice
Design Technology Department
1900 Pico Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90405-1628
Interior Architectural Design Program
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.smc.edu
Contact: Josephine Hao    
Email:
Hao_jo@smc.edu
Tel: (310) 310-434-8954


 

Westwood College, Los Angeles Campus
3250 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 400
Los Angeles, CA  90010
Web:
www.westwood.edu/locations/california/la.asp
Contact: Willie Salazar
Tel: 866-930-9256
Email:
gsalazar@westwood.edu
Toll Free: 1-866-930-9256


 

Westwood College: South Bay, CA Campus
19700 S. Vermont Ave., Suite 100
Torrance, CA 90502
Tel: (310) 310-965-0888
Toll free: 1.888.403.3308
Web:
www.westwood.edu/locations/california/south-bay.asp
Contact: Saeed Danosian
Email:
sdanosian@westwood.edu
Tel: (310) 965-0888,


 

Woodbury University, Department of Interior Architecture See notice
School of Architecture and Design
7500 Glenoaks Boulevard
Burbank, CA 91510-7846
Bachelor of Fine Arts
Web:
www.woodbury.edu
Contact: Kristin King
Email:
kristin.king@woodbury.edu
Tel:(818) 252-5113



MARIN COUNTY   Top of page

 
College of Marin, Interior Design Program
835 College Avenue
Kentfield, California 94904
2 year Associate Degree
Web:
www.marin.edu
Contact: Bonnie Ruder, CID 
Email:
bonnie.ruder@marin.edu
Tel: (415) 457-8811 ext. 7429
Contact: Cari Torres 
Email:
Cari.Torres@marin.edu
Tel: (415) 457-8811 ext. 7378


MONTEREY COUNTY  Top of page

Monterey Peninsula College, Interior Design Program
980 Fremont Street
Monterey, CA 93940-4799
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.mpc.edu/homex.asp
Contact: Sunshine Giesler
Email:
sgiesler@mpc.edu
Tel: (831) 646-4138



RIVERSIDE COUNTY   Top of page

UCR Extension, Interior Design Program
Arts & Humanities Department
1200 University Ave., Room 331
Riverside, CA 92507-4596
Certificate Program
Web:
www.extension.ucr.edu
Contact: Leanna Mojado
Email:
lmojado@ucx.ucr.edu      
Tel: (951) 827-1637



ORANGE COUNTY   Top of page

 
Art Institute of California – Orange County
Interior Design Department
3601 West Sunflower Avenue
Santa Ana, CA 92704-9888
Bachelor of Science in Interior Design
Web:
www.aicaoc.aii.edu
Contact: Denese Menard
Email:
dmenard@aii.edu
Tel: (714) 830-0200 x 4233

Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, Interior Design Program
17590 Gillette Avenue
Irvine, CA 92614
NASAD Accreditation
Associate of Arts
Web:
www.fidm.com
Contact: Dina Morgan, CID
Email:
dmorgan@fidm.com
Tel: (213) 624-1200 X3015



Fullerton College, Applied Design Department
321 E. Chapman Avenue
Fullerton, CA 92632-2095
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.fullcoll.edu
Contact: Brian Kaneko, CID
Email:
bkaneko@fullcoll.edu
Tel: (714) 992-7000


Interior Designers Institute, Interior Design Program
1061 Camelback Road
Newport Beach, CA 92660
Bachelor of Arts Degree in Interior Design
Web:
www.idi.edu
Contact: Judy Deaton, CID
Email:
jdeaton@idi.edu
Tel: (949) 675-4451 


 

Orange Coast College, Interior Design Program
2701 Fairview Road
Costa Mesa, CA 92628-5005
3 year Associate of Science Degree
Web:
www.occ.cccd.edu
Contact: Renee Kubiak, CID
Email:
rkubiak@occ.cccd.edu
Tel: (714) 432-5841, ext. 2


 

Saddleback College, Interior Design Department
28000 Marguerite Parkway
Mission Viejo, CA 92692-3699
3 year Associate Degrees/Level I, Level II, Level III Certificates
Web:
www.saddleback.edu
Contact: Arlene Thomas, CID
Email:  
athomas@saddleback.edu
Tel: (949) 582-4615


 

Westwood College: Anaheim, CA Campus
1551 S. Douglass Road
Anaheim, CA 92806
Contact: Al Nikroo
Email:
alnikroo@westwood.edu
Local: (714) 704-2720
Toll free: 1-877-840-8999
Web:
www.westwood.edu/locations/california/anaheim.asp




SACRAMENTO COUNTY   Top of page


Art Institute of California — Sacramento
2850 Gateway Oaks Dr., Suite #100
Sacramento, CA 95833
Web:
www.artinstitutes.edu/sacramento
Contact: Marosi White
Email:mawhite@aii.edu 
Phone: 916-830-6320
Toll Free: 800.477.1957
Fax: 916.830.6344



 

American River College, Sacramento, Interior Design Program
4700 College Oak Drive
Sacramento, CA 95841
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.arclosrios.edu
Contact: Marie Cooley, CID
Email:
cooleym@arc.losrios.edu
Phone: (916) 484-8600



California State University, Sacramento , Interior Design
Department of Design, School of the Arts
6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819
Bachelor of Arts Interior Design
Web:
www.csus.edu
Contact: James R. Kenney
Email:
jkenney@csus.edu
Tel: (916) 278-6375
Contact: Carolyn Gibbs
Email:
carolyng@csus.edu
Tel: (916) 278-3948



International Academy of Design and Technology
2450 Del Paso Road, Suite 250
Sacramento, CA 95834
AA and BA Programs
Web:
www.iadtsacramento.com
Contact: Moira Camlin, CID , Interior Design Program Acting Director
Email:
mcamblin@iadtsacramento.com
Tel: (916) 830-3340




SAN BERNARDINO COUNTY   Top of page


 

Art Institute - Inland Empire
630 E. Brier Drive
San Bernardino, CA 92408
Web:
www.artinstitutes.edu/inland-empire
Contact: Sara Sandoval
Email:
ssandoval@aii.edu
Tel: (800) 353-0812

Chaffey College, Interior Design Department
5885 Haven Avenue
Rancho Cucamonga, CA 91737
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.chaffey.edu
Contact: Karen Encinas
Email: 
karen.encinas@chaffey.edu
Tel: (909) 652-6000




 

Westwood College: Inland Empire, CA Campus
20 W. 7th Street
Upland, CA 91786
Web:
www.westwood.edu/locations/california/inland.asp
Contact: Glenna Randolph
Email:
grandolph@westwood.edu  
Tel: (909) 931-7599  EXT. 402
Toll free: 1-866-221-5632



SAN DIEGO COUNTY   Top of page


Art Institute of California San Diego 
7650 Mission Valley Road
San Diego, CA 92108
Contact Tricia Murray, Academic Director for Interior Design
Email:
tmurray@aii.edu
Tel: 1-866-275-2422 (toll free)
Tel: 1-858-598-1200


Design Institute of San Diego, Interior Design Program
8555 Commerce Ave.
San Diego, CA 92121
Web:
www.disd.edu  
Contact: Denise Homme
Email:
dhomme@disd.edu
Tel: (858)566-1200 Ext. 1014


Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, Interior Design Program
1010 Second Avenue, Suite #200
San Diego, CA 92101
NASAD Accreditation
Associate of Arts
Web:
www.fidm.com
Contact: Dina Morgan, CID
Email:
dmorgan@fidm.com
Tel: (213) 624-1200 X3015


 

Palomar College, Interior Design Program
1140 West Mission Road
San Marcos, CA 92069-1487
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.palomar.edu
Contact: Lori Graham
Email:
lgraham@palomar.edu
Tel: (760) 744-1150 X2210


Point Loma Nazarene University
3900 Lomaland Drive
San Diego, CA  92106
Bachelor of Arts in Interior Design
Web:
www.pointloma.edu
Contact: Professor Susan Rogers
E-mail:
susanrogers@pointloma.edu
Phone: 619-849-2245



 

San Diego Mesa College, Interior Design Department
7250 Mesa College Drive
San Diego, CA 92111-4996
Associate of Science Degree
Web:
www.sandiegomesacollege.net
Contact: Holly Hodnick, CID
Email:
hhodnick@sdccd.edu
Tel: (619) 388-2941


 

San Diego State University, Interior Design Program
School of Art, Design & Art History
College of Professional Studies and Fine Arts
5300 Campanile Drive MC 4805
San Diego, CA 92182
Bachelor of Arts in Applied Arts and Sciences
Web:
www.sdsu.edu
Contact: Kotaro Nakamura
Email:
nakamur1@mail.sdsu.edu
Tel: (619) 594-6511




SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY   Top of page


Academy of Art University, San Francisco , Interior Architecture and Design See notice
79 New Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
BFA, MFA, or AA Interior Architecture & Design
Web:
www.academyart.edu
Contact: Laura Blumenfeld, Executive Director of Interior Architecture & Design
Email:
lblumenfeld@academyart.edu
Phone: (800) 544-ARTS


 

Art Institute of California – San Francisco
Interior Design Department
1170 Market Street
San Francisco, CA 94102-4908
Web:
www.aicasf.aii.edu
Contact: Jeff Nokkeo
Email: 
jnokkeo@aii.edu
Tel: (415) 276-4008


California College of the Arts
BFA in Interior Design
Architecture Division
1111 8th Street
San Francisco, CA 94107
Web:
www.cca.edu
Contact: Catherine Veikos
Email:
cveikos@cca.edu
Phone: (415) 551-9288



City College of San Francisco, Interior Design Program
50 Phelan Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94112-1898
Web:
www.ccsf.edu
Contact: Andrew Chandler
Email:
achandler@ccsf.edu
Tel: (415) 452-5086

  
Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, Interior Design Program
55 Stockton Street
San Francisco, CA 94108
NASAD Accreditation
Associate of Arts
Web:
www.fidm.com
Contact: Dina Morgan, CID
Email:
dmorgan@fidm.com
Tel: (213) 624-1200 X3015


 

San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
Web:
www.sfsu.edu
Contact: Nancy Rabolt
Email:
nrabolt@sfsu.edu
Tel: (415) 338-2060


 

UC Berkeley Extension, Interior Design and Interior Architecture See notice
Department of Art and Design   (program is in San Francisco)
1995 University Avenue, Suite 110
Berkeley, CA 94704-7000
Certificate in Interior Design and Interior Architecture
Web:
www.unex.berkeley.edu/cert/intdes.html
Email: interiordes@unex.berkeley.edu
Contact: Rae Hagner
Email:
rhagner@unex.berkeley.edu
Tel: (415) 284-1070
 


SAN LUIS OBISPO COUNTY   Top of page


Cuesta College, Interior Design Department
P.O. Box 8106
San Luis Obispo, CA 93403-8106
Web:
www.cuesta.edu
Contact: Bobbi Tone
Email:  
btone@cuesta.edu
Tel: (805) 546-3263



SAN MATEO COUNTY     Top of page


Canada College, Interior Design Program
4200 Farm Hill Boulevard
Redwood City, CA 94061-1099
2 year Associate Degree/Certificate
Web:
www.canadacollege.net
Contact: Elsa Torres, CGBP
Email:
torreselsa@smccd.edu
Tel: (650) 306-3320



SANTA BARBARA COUNTY     Top of page

 
Santa Barbara City College, Interior Design Department
721 Cliff Drive
Santa Barbara, CA 93109-2394
Web:
www.sbcc.edu
Contact: Laura Welby
Email:
welby@sbcc.edu
Tel: (805) 965-0581 X2522




SANTA CLARA COUNTY   Top of page

Art Institute of California – Sunnyvale
Interior Design Department
1120 Kifer Road
Sunnyvale, CA 94086
Interior Design Bachelor Degree Program
Web:
www.artinstitutes.edu/sunnyvale
Contact: Luke Kwan
Email:
Lkwan@aii.edu
Tel: (408) 962-6419


 

West Valley College, Interior Design Department
14000 Fruitvale Avenue
Saratoga, CA 95070-5699
A.S. Degree, Interior Design
Variety of Certificate Programs
Web:
www.westvalley.edu
Contact: Diane Hurd, CID
Email:
diane.hurd@westvalley.edu
Tel: (408) 741-2406
Contact: Jane Lily, CID
Email:
jane.lily@westvalley.edu
Tel: (408) 741 2081



San Jose State University, Arts & Design
1 Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192
Web:
www.sjsu.edu
Contact: Brian Kimura
Email:
brian.kimura@sjsu.edu
Tel: (408) 924-4378




SOLANO COUNTY   Top of page

 
Solano Community College , Interior Design Department
4000 Suisun Valley Road
Fairfield, CA 94534
Web:
www.solano.edu
Contact: Denina Fredrickson
Email:
denina.fredrickson@solano.edu
Tel: (707) 864-7000 X 5694




SONOMA COUNTY   Top of page

Santa Rosa Junior College
1501 Mendocino Avenue
Santa Rosa, CA 95401-4395
Web:
www.santarosa.edu
Contact: Bonnie Panizzera
Email:
bpanizzera@aol.com
Tel: (707) 527-4258





YOLO COUNTY     Top of page

University of California, Davis, Environmental Design Program
1628 Redwood Lane
Davis, CA 95616
Web:
www.ucdavis.edu
Contact: Timothy McNeil, Design Program Director    
Email:
tjmcneil@ucdavis.edu
Tel: (530) 752-2589

ONLINE AND CORRESPONDENCE INTERIOR DESIGN SCHOOLS  Top of page


The Design Ecademy
Parkshot House
5 Kew Road
Richmond
Surrey
TW9 2PR
UK
T: +44 (0) 20 8100 6010
F: +44 (0) 20 8181 7781
E:
head.academics@thedesignecademy.com
W:
www.thedesignecademy.com
Registered in England No: 7855926


Rhodec International Interior Design Program
USA
59 Coddington Street, Suite 104
Quincy, MA 02169
BA Interior Design
3 year Professional Diploma (60 credits)  
Associate Diploma/Certificate
Web:
www.rhodec.edu


Rhodec International Interior Design Program
UK
35 East Street
Brighton, BN1 1HL
England, UK
Web:
www.rhodec.edu

Top of page

 Home     Search     Privacy Notice     Disclaimer  

Copyright 1991-2014  Calif. Council for Interior Design Certification. All Rights Reserved.
Webmaster
Mosser Design